Netball: End of season report


What another awesome day for our netball club hosting the Hills Assoc Grand Final games for the second year in a row. The weather was perfect, the courts sparkling and the great crowds gave it a carnival atmosphere.

In season 2018 we had 13 junior teams and 8 senior teams making us the largest Hills Association club. We had 15 teams (10 junior and 5 senior) participating in the final series with ten playing in Grand Final games. Congratulations to everyone for a successful season and to the 11.1, 11.2 gold and 13.2 gold who brought home premierships. At the final presentation after all games had been played our club was awarded the Maeva Vick trophy for the Most Successful Club for 2018.

The Hills Netball Association medal winners were announced on grand final day and we are very proud to congratulate IBCG players who received association Best and Fairest trophies: Jaslyn Wells, Layla Wigzell and Jess Hocking. Assoc runners up from our club were Tayla Stapledon, Kylie Thane, Tyla Hancock, Tahli Charles and Mia Porter-Westphalen. Layla Wigzell also received the overall association B&F for the highest votes for any player and Tayla Stapledon was also chosen in the Hills League Team of the Year.

During 2018, Aldinga After Hours GP (Dr James Moxham) came on board as our major sponsor for which we are extremely grateful. Summit Glass (Gavin Chant) provided us with the splashback in the canteen along with some financial sponsorship assistance. Please remember our sponsors and support them when you can.

Running a club this size relies on many people to contribute and we are very fortunate to have assistance from the likes of Di and Brian Morgan, Kim Milde, David Harrihill, Kat and Luke Mackereth and Donna Gunn.

Our club junior presentations were held on Sunday September 9th following the grand final and our award winners were: Best & Fairest - Reece Johnston, Mia Westphalen, Tahli Charles, Tyla Hancock, Harmony Wimalaratne, Jess Hocking, Layla Wigzell, Sarah Harper, Sharni Huston, Kaia Walker, Tahlia West, Jaslyn Wells, Irulan Murphy and Victoria Lidstone. Runner up B&F - Alicia Carr, Eloise Goldsworthy, Holly Ambler, Summer Ross, Isabelle Petrie, Caitlin McMartin, Evie Desteno, Jasmine Partridge, Kelsey Claire, Brianna Rosman, Gypsy Donk, Jess Meldrum, Kirralee West.

Senior presentations will be held at the Club on Friday night 14th September.

Summer netball competition gets under way on Thursday nights commencing October after the school holidays. Games will go from 4-30pm through to 8-30pm and meals will be available in the main clubrooms.

Thank you to the community for supporting our club.